My One-Woman Boycott of OKC

 

 

It’s been three days since 60% of Oklahomans told teachers and kids we aren’t worth a penny.  We’re out of school today, and I’m still incredibly angry with the people of this state.

 

Spare me the comments that start out, “I’m all for teachers, but…”.  I think it’s a safe assumption that most of you looking for a “better” way will find yourselves too busy to visit the Capitol or nag your legislators when the session begins in February.  The few of you who follow up with the promise will soon realize your mistake when you find out what we’ve been up against for the past eight years.62864930-368-k339992

 

And now I see efforts on social media to try to make something positive out of this.  People are asking what they can do to make teachers feel appreciated.

 

Well, you know…a $5000 raise would have been a good start.

 

Folks, no amount of thank you notes, school supply drives, sonic gift cards, or 50% off Chili’s coupons are going to make us feel better.  (As if I could afford a nice place like Chili’s on my paltry teacher’s salary.)  We can’t send our kids to college, or even to piano lessons, solely on the satisfaction of a job well done.  Last time I checked, they don’t accept “fulfillment of a calling” as payment for my groceries.  Only cash, check, or charge.

 

We’ve been going about this all wrong.

 

We’ve been trying to play the game with integrity.  By promoting facts.  By trying to educate the general public on complicated issues like school finance.  By showcasing our teachers and celebrating our schools.

 

Well, I don’t know about you, friends, but I’m fresh out of rainbows and unicorns.  I’m in the mood for some good ole’ fashion come-uppance.

 

We know there was a huge push to convince Oklahomans to vote NO on 779 in the last two weeks leading up to the election.  They flooded the airwaves on radio and television with misleading commercials full of half-truths and outright inaccuracies concerning 779.  They deliberately misled the public, essentially tricking them into seeing a distorted view of the language in 779.   And not 48 hours after the election, the “Oklahoma Deserves Better” coalition, the anti-779 campaign, dismantled their Facebook page, and haven’t been heard from since.  So much for that “better” plan they never had any intention of pursuing (as if one existed at all).  “Oklahoma Deserves Better”, was smart about it, too.  They waited until the end of the campaign to form their organization officially because they won’t have to disclose their financial information to the ethics commission until Jan. 1st, thereby protecting their donors.

 

Well, I don’t plan to wait that long.

 

We know this push came largely out of OKC.  Sure, plenty of other municipalities voiced their opposition, feeling that one penny would be enough to convince people not to buy stuff and things anymore.  (insert eye roll emoji here).  Because asking people to pay an additional dollar for every hundred they spend is much more detrimental to business than a crumbling education system. But regardless of declarations by various chambers of commerce, the people with the money are the ones who moved the needle.  Are we really supposed to think they organized, raised funds, and produced all those commercials in just two weeks?  I don’t think so.  A number of reliable sources have led me to believe that most of the money was raised by and/or came from Oklahoma City.  And the entire effort was largely backed and promoted by the Greater OKC Chamber, no doubt to protect their interests in promoting their own penny sales tax, MAPS.

 

So, I plan to boycott OKC.

 

I pledge to do my best not to spend any money in OKC city limits.  I won’t buy a single sack of groceries, or a drop of gasoline there.  I won’t fill a single prescription there.  Not a single haircut, oil change, or gym membership.  I won’t buy a single Christmas present at Penn Square Mall, or any other retailer.  I don’t care how many triple-doubles Westbrook throws up, I won’t attend a single Thunder event, or even purchase one item of merchandise (especially since it is rumored Clay Bennett was one of the masterminds behind anti-779 propaganda).  I will not eat in Bricktown.  I won’t visit the museums, the civic center, or the movie theaters.  I will not attend one concert there, nor will I buy one ounce of full-strength beer or wine.  Not in a bar, a convenience store, or a liquor store.

 

They don’t think I’m worth a penny?  Fine.  I won’t spend a cent there either.

 

Not.  One.  Penny.

 

Will OKC miss the tax revenue from my paltry teacher pay?  No.  But at least it’s good for a half-hearted laugh to imagine me, a one-woman protest, picketing Thunder games with signs that read, “Clay Bennett HATES TEACHERS”.

 

Nah.  It would take more than just me to make this a real movement.

 

And right now, the only things inspiring me are these:

Oklahoma Legislator pay:  15th in the nation
Oklahoma Teacher pay:  50th in the nation

My Oklahoma Teacher Salary with a master’s and 10 years’ experience:  $36, 500.

My potential salary moving to any of the several dozen districts in the Dallas Metroplex:  $55,000 plus.

51 thoughts on “My One-Woman Boycott of OKC

  1. You knew the pay when you got the masters degree and you knew the pay when you applied for the job. If my job offered the amount of time off that yours does I would expect a pay equal to yours.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, Hollie. So is it just in Oklahoma you expect teachers to take a vow of poverty? We pay teachers at 77% the national average even though cost of living here is 87% the national average.
      So is it just in Oklahoma you expect teachers to be satisfied martyring themselves and their families?
      Teachers work well beyond their contracts. I’m working from 6:30am to 11pm tomorrow (Saturday) so my students can audition for the Allstate chorus.

      Like

      1. I don’t expect anyone to take a vow of poverty unless that is a choice they make on their own. When choosing to go into education in Oklahoma everyone knows the pay is horrible,however, the time off is great! That is a decision you make. Just as in my field of nursing…if I choose to work for a state facility i.e. Prison, DHS, etc, the pay would be horrible but I would have a boatload of time off…….but…..time off is not a priority to me…therefore I decided to go into the private sector where the pay is much better.

        Like

    2. You are, without a doubt, one of the most obnoxious people I’ve heard comment on this issue. I taught 31 years in Oklahoma and if I wanted my child to be able to go to college, had to move. My husband and I moved to Katy, Texas. She graduated from UH. Nothing raises my blood pressure more than people like you who think teachers have “…the amount of time off…” that you referred to. As a secondary teacher, I worked at least 10-12 hours a day and that’s nothing compared to the time most elementary teachers spend. Before you make such asinine statements, figure the hourly wage of an Oklahoma teacher.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Obviously she has not been around teachers much because my “time off” as she puts it is not spent sunny on the beach. I am contracted from 8:30-4:00. I get 50 min lunch and 3 days a 30 min plan time. These are the only times I can use the restroom….how about you? Oh, you get to go whenever you need to how nice. I usually don’t leave til 5:30 most nights. I spend my weekends planning for the next week and grading papers. My fall break was doing just that and recovering from two 12 hour days for parent teacher conferences. My summers will be used for going to workshops and training so I can stay up on the best ways to teach kids. But, you are right I get soooo much time off!

        Like

    3. I am a teacher and I’m contracted to work 7:30-3:30 five days a week. I went to work at 7 this morning and got home at 7 tonight. Our “time off” is spent grading papers, planning lessons, meeting with parents, going to professional development workshops, etc… I will spend hours this weekend catching up on grading because I can’t grade while teaching. I spend my lunch hour on lunch and recess duty and I spend my planning time (40 min) returning emails from parents or helping students who struggle.
      I’m knew the pay when I went into teaching. It is my passion, however being 50th in the nation in teachers’ pay and 15th in the nation in legislators’ is embarrassing. Talk about tons of time off! Legislators work Feb-May and are off for holidays during those months.

      Liked by 2 people

    4. Hi Hollie. I have several nurses in my family. I am also a former classroom teacher and school librarian. I am now a professor in higher education. In other words, I am highly qualified to educate you on a few things.

      Teachers are mandated to complete more work than is reasonably encompassed in a 180 day contract year. They are not provided the time during the contract day to complete the instructional planning, grading, parent communication, paperwork, etc. that is required of them. They have a single planning time that will allow for the grading of papers from two lessons tops. Thus, the average teacher spends an extra two hours beyond the contract day each day of the school year. This is approximately 360 hours per school year which equals an additional 45 work days, or nine 5-day weeks. (In other words, summer months off? In our dreams!) This is an approximate mean, so many teacher spend many more hours than this. Unfortunately, those are all unpaid hours. My husband and mother who are each RNs receive time-and-a-half for every hour they work above forty hours and every hour worked on a federal holiday.

      Yes, you are correct in saying that we know what we signed up for. That never means we should settle for what is not right and what could be made better. The next time you complain about that doctor who is terrible to work with, wouldn’t you just love to have someone lean over your shoulder and blithely remind you that you knew what you were getting into when you chose the nursing field?

      On another note, before you write another comment addressing teachers, please consider serving as a substitute teacher in your local schools. Preferably long term subbing so you can get a good feel of what reasonably fits within a school day and get a good taste of the calling we willingly and with open eyes shouldered on behalf of our children.

      Blessings!

      Liked by 3 people

    5. Hollie, that is EARNED time off because teachers get a full year’s worth of work done in ten months. You’d better believe that we earn every single second of our 8 weeks off a year. Still doesn’t mean we should be underpaid. And if that’s how you really feel about Oklahoma teachers, feel free to homeschool your own brats. Good luck to you.

      Like

    6. Time off (e.g. summer) isn’t time off if you’re spending that time working at another job just to be able to put money in savings since a teachers salary only allows many to live paycheck to paycheck. You’ll have to excuse me though; I have to get ready to go to my part-time job, which is allowing me extra income to save for my move to another state after this school year.

      Liked by 1 person

    7. The problem is, Hollie, that because the pay is so uncompetitive, we have a mass exodus of teachers leaving Oklahoma or the teaching profession altogether. Oklahoma issued more than 1000 emergency certificates in the first 5 months of the 2015-2016 school year (compared to 32 total for the 2011-2012 school year) as a result of the teacher shortage. So, Hollie,, your suggestion to find a job with better pay is not novel, in fact, it is the very reason the emergent state of education in Oklahoma exists.

      Liked by 1 person

    8. What a joke! How much time DO you think I have off?

      Do you get up at 4 every morning to make center materials using your is paper, ink, printer, laminator, and film? Do you stop by Walmart every morning and spend $25 so you have teaching supplies? Do you buy school supplies for 20 to 25 kids each August – enough to last the entire year – because you know their parents won’t send them? Do you buy your own lice spray to keep the room uninfested? Do you buy your own furniture for your office? Do you buy your own paint and spend your “off” time cleaning up the walls? Do you buy clothes and keep them in your room, knowing when you send them home with a child who has soiled his they will never come back and you will have to buy more? Do you tell your own children you can’t buy something for them because you have to spend your money on your job? Do you spend $900 a month to insure your two children? I could go on, but you probably won’t get the point, anyway.

      Liked by 1 person

    9. You could not be more wrong. You want to talk average…the average teacher is at the actual school building 10-12 hours a day. This does include any work done at home or working through lunch. We have to attend conferences during time off and all those professional an parent conference days your kids are out…we are there. As a matter of fact I did not know that I was going to have double the students, more testing, more meetings, and almost the same pay in the last 20 plus years. If you have kids in school do you wantthese dedicated teachers to leave?

      Liked by 1 person

    10. Time off is usually spent going back to college to get more education to fulfill district requirements OR
      to keep up with everchanging teaching techniques and materials.aA

      Like

    11. This comment is horrible, ignorant, and honestly not worth responding to. (In fact, judging by the poor punctuation, this person probably didn’t pay attention anyway.)

      People forget that teachers educate the future of America, and the success of our country is dependent on the foundation these educators set. You also teach life skills and social skills.

      Oklahoma is behind the rest of the country in so many social areas and public services as made evident here. Y’all don’t get paid half as much as you deserve. Good luck, and know that many support your endeavor.

      Like

    12. Time Off!?!? Are you kidding me! You have no clue! I work more hours in the summer! NOT PAID! It’s the only time I have to put together units, attend training, clean and prepare for the next go round!!! You are speaking from sheer ignorance. Please don’t make comments about this when you are clearly miss informed on the reality of teaching.

      Like

    13. Our elected leaders knew their salary when they were elected. That didn’t stop them from voting themselves a raise once they got to the capitol. I would bet every person hired into a position knew the salary when they were hired, but raises are given at regular intervals. As for the “time off,” teachers are not paid for time off. Our salaries are based on 180 school days. That salary is divided into 12 monthly payments so that we receive a reduced check every month instead of having 3 months of no pay check.

      Like

    14. Where’s your reply Hollie? Why aren’t you spewing nonsense and being completely antisocial, acting like you have no responsibility for the people whom you depended on to get your education? What’s wrong with your argument now that you have seen all the replies? Do you really feel that you are right? Do you really think that people who offer to serve the public, as their occupation, should be lacking in sufficient resources to provide that service? Maybe you think that the privileges you enjoy, such as being alive due to the hard work of our Nations defenders, are yours to have at whatever cost your deem appropriate?

      At some point, the ignorance exuding from your comments will hopefully be reversed by you being educated by some other educator who is giving you the luxury of learning something someone else knows without you have to somehow discover it.

      Git off you high horse and try and become knowledgable of what is really at issue here!

      The very people who might make this state viable by educating our population, to better it, are leaving. What are we going to do when there are no teachers in Oklahoma, and no one will take a teaching job here?

      Do you understand, that there is no big business in Oklahoma because we do not produce enough, viable workers for the engineering and tech industries? They don’t want to pay to “import” workers to the state. Since we don’t educate them, we don’t get businesses here. Our teaching facilities need to be reinforced and we need to repair the problems we have with the education level of our citizens so that we can have a generation ready to facilitate more high tech businesses coming to Oklahoma. Right now everyone is leaving Oklahoma, not just teachers. High tech workers, the few that we are producing, are often leaving the state for work opportunities in other states. Why can’t we keep them here?

      People in Oklahoma are not making enough money because we are spending too much money out of the state and not selling local products outside the state in large enough volume to create money flows into Oklahoma.

      The dwindling taxes base demonstrates all of this is happening.

      The Red vote of Oklahoma is the ignorance of social responsibility. Too many people in the state have no idea that they are privileged to be where they are at, because someone else gave them that opportunity. Those with a job got the job through the courtesy of their employer. They are getting paid their salary based on their employer’s choice.

      Teachers are only asking for the same courtesy from the citizens of Oklahoma, their employers.

      Like

    15. Poor Hollie, she’s the prime reason teachers receive no respect and lower compensation, ignorance. And by the way, teaching may be a choice but so is ignorance. Personally, I’d rather be a teacher.

      Like

  2. We need the teachers to go elsewhere and into other professions. Then people will change, but not until it affect them personally! I am married to a teacher and it is a travisty that it was voted down for any reason! I can promis you she care more about some of these kids maybe more than their own parents….

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mindy Dennison, you rock! You have inspired me to think long and hard about where I shop and do other business. Choctaw, Shawnee, Moore, and Norman will be seeing a lot more of me and getting a lot more of my business!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mindy, When you picket, let me know and I’ll bring a few hundred friends with me. Not any teachers, because they”ll have to be at work so they can’t campaign for themselves. It will take stay-at-home mom’s, swing shift workers, such as NURSES AND POLICE OFFICERS who have the ability to acrue comp time and time and a half for every second they work over, to get this done. Come on, Hollie, you seriously said that? They knew what they signed up for? You know better than that.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Holli, teachers are NOT paid in the summer for their months off. The pay for the school year is divided into twelve payments. I don’t know many teachers actually have June and July off. Most of us have to go and work another full-time job for those two months in order to supplement our lives and be able to survive during the school year. Your comments are ridiculous. Your attitude is what’s wrong with the state. I am not one to comment and reply. This is actually my first time to do so. But to say those things to Mindy is asinine at best

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I voted to raise your pay. What I would like the state to tell me is where did the lottery money go? Was it not enough, did it get spent somewhere else? We are in the panhandle and we are losing state services. They shut down our DHS office so now we have to drive an hour to apply for benefits, we lost our DOC facility. We only have a driving examiner twice a month. What is going on here?

    Like

    1. This is how it was explained to me: Say education is allotted $100,000 and the lottery brought in $40000…well the state would give the $40,000 the lottery made to education and take $40,000 from the !00,000 and spend it elsewhere instead of adding the $40,000 to the top.

      Like

  7. I do agree that teachers should have a raises, but I also want to recognize that we are not only behind with teachers income, but also “Look at our testing scores has a state over all, much less my actual school score a D on the state superintendent’s report that is a reflection on many contributing factors!” Raises are suppose to be earned not entitled! Teachers years ago had better testing scores with less technology and went five days a week.

    Like

    1. Hi, Jen. First of all, tests scores aren’t the only to evaluate teachers and schools, and they rarely paint the whole picture. In fact, the state’s flawed A-F report is basically a graph that plots poverty.
      In addition, if our students now we’re taking the exams we gave “years ago”, we’d have many more testing proficient or advanced. They have continuously made the tests more difficult, or the cut-off scores higher as more students illustrate proficiency.
      It’s pretty easy to perpetuate the false rhetoric that schools and teachers are failing by setting the bar so high it’s out of reach.
      Like telling a fish to demonstrate proficiency by climbing a tree.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Our state ACT average scores are pretty good last I checked.

        For 2016, 82% of graduating seniors participated, with an average composite score of 20.4. Better than Some of our surrounding states.

        Liked by 2 people

  8. Yes, we get time off! We have a “forced” UNPAID vacation. There is no where that we could get a second job for the summer and make much more than minimum wage. We are paid for the 181 days that we are contracted to work. Although not one teacher works just those 181 days. Nights, weekends, breaks, and, yes, summer. Yes, we made that choice. But we prayed that over the years, we would get a raise. Does any educated, hard working adult stay in a job where their efforts are not rewarded? Where they don’t get a raise, or a promotion? No! They leave that company and move on to something better. To get a “promotion” we have to go back to college, obtain a master’s degree or doctorate, and receive a paltry $2000 dollar/year raise for that effort that might have cost us around $10-30,000 to get. Not to mention pay for and pass more certification tests to show that we are highly qualified and fit to be in that position. Spend a week in our shoes. See if you can handle what we do, then tell us we don’t deserve respect or a raise. Come in and listen to the stories we hear from our students that break our hearts. Love those that need love so badly that they make themselves seem unlovable. Help clothe and feed those who come to school without the basic necessities. Buy school supplies, Christmas presents, craft supplies. Send students home at night and hope that they have enough food to not go to bed hungry for the night. AND on top of that, try to teach them so that they may grow up and have choices that are not limited! Teach them and pray that they can pass a test so that the legislature does not use the test score against that same teacher that THEY (and the people of Oklahoma) will not respect enough to give a pay raise. Legislators can always find the money to give themselves a pay increase. This tells me they are not there for the people of the State of Oklahoma. They are working for themselves.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. After years of trying to survive on my husband (a teacher/coach 23years) and my (teacher 18 years) salary in Oklahoma (born and raised), we left Ok for Texas. Our first checks, my husbands alone was more than what both of us made together in OK. My school also pays for my insurance. We don’t pay state tax nor sales tax on food. As much as I hated leaving my home state, it was the best move we ever made. I have now taught 18 years in Texas for a total of 36 years. While in OK, we were always given lip service for our work! Always proposing something to pass but for some reason the funds never make it to education. I have nieces that are still in the trenches there. It’s time for OK to wake up! Sad days ahead for OK education. We welcome all dedicated teacher to Texas where you will be compensated for you work!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. And yet you, the teachers, parents, and public just voted the overwhelming majority of those same legislators back into office. The ones who continuously tell you they don’t care about you or your students. And you did so in great numbers. You had choices. REAL advocates for public education and educators, but ……that unfortunate “D” behind their name was just too much for you. You couldn’t bring yourselves to cross the aisle to do what was best not only for yourselves, but for your students. So here’s a news flash. Those guys don’t care how many marches, protests, phone calls or letters you plan on implementing. They will do nothing for you, because you told them you don’t care enough about yourselves (or the kids you proclaim to love). You gave them yet another pass, and if you don’t think they’re laughing at you, then your master’s degree didn’t teach you jack about how the real world works. You did this to yourselves. And IF you’re lucky, in 2 years, when we get to do this all over again, there MIGHT be a few people willing to step up again to try to help you. Maybe. You bet on the wrong horse, and you lost. This is on you, and until you, as a collective body, figure that out, you’ll continue to get what you deserve. I have a whole family full of teachers in CO, and they just shake their heads at how little respect the educators in OK have for themselves. Have fun storming the castle.

    Like

    1. Hi, “sick of whining”. Pretty easy to call us out from behind your anonymity.
      I voted for pro-public education legislators, including democrats. Our group identified both pro- and anti-public education candidates and campaigned actively.
      Perhaps you should be careful to lump us all together in your reprimand, because thousands of us were mobilized in this campaign to work on behalf of candidates who support our endeavors.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. I know there were teachers who were elected to the state legislature. Why don’t you ask them to present a bill with a penny sales tax with a 5 year limit requiring 75% going to salary increase. A forever tax where teachers were only guaranteed $5000 with the rest going to classroom (?) didn’t appeal to many of us even when we have teachers in our families and desperately want to see them get raises.

    Like

  12. To Sick of the Whining: You are the problem with this state. You blame teachers for something that was out of their control just like those we have been fighting against.. The number of teachers in this state is small compared to the number of voters. Many people just vote straight party ticket and we are a red state. With the widespread support of Trump, the vote ran red and so did our hopes of fair treatment. The Dark Money lying ads from the ALEC group and the Koch Brothers further sealed our fate. We have not had a raise in a decade. Our cost of living has skyrocketed, but our salary has decreased in buying power. Our work load and expectations have more than doubled. Those with dependent coverage faced a $1000 increase in insurance premiums this year over the already ridiculously high cost, and the coverage is so poor that most are paying off medical bills. The stress is incredible as we are expected to prepare children for a test that is ever changing as the bar is set after the testing is over. They control the scores of our children by adjusting the cut score to meet a “norm”, which changes yearly. This year the amount of possibly tested material my students must be prepared for has doubled, and includes objectives that they should have already had, but that were not being addressed at those levels in the previous curriculum so I am working even more overtime hours trying to figure out how to teach several years worth of objectives in one. I don’t even get home before 8:00 or 9:00 many days and I often take work home with me even then. We are not payed for our holidays. We are only paid for the days we work. We receive 0 paid vacation days and holidays. We work on weekends, we take work on trips, to soccer games, baseball tournaments, everywhere we go. I missed half my children’s childhood because of the ever-increasing demands of this job. After 26 years, I still don’t make the starting pay in Texas. My single teacher daughter runs out of food every month on her salary after paying bills, payments, and student loans. This is not the job I signed up for anymore, but the kids needs us more than ever.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. You are not alone. I, too, am spending my money elsewhere. I’ve been teaching 31 years. We are always waiting for a “better plan” that never comes, and wearing red on Fridays hasn’t changed a thing. Marching around with signs just takes time out of the classroom. Maybe more teachers need to get on board.

    Like

  14. You are very well spoken. Just FYI, the increase in pay down here in Dallas is hazardous work pay. Students will cut you just for fun. I’m not joking. My daughter is home schooled, for her safety.

    Like

    1. Hi, Karla. Thanks for the warning. We are looking at several suburbs in the North Dallas area, we have friends who migrated from Oklahoma. They are giving us the inside scoop in their various districts (Lewsville, Allen, Plano, McKinney, Richardson, Grand Prairie, Denton, Carollton, etc.)

      Like

  15. I am I retired teacher from Florida. I agree with everything you have written. Stand up for what you believe., because I am appalled at your pay. To all the Hollies of this world, you don’t have a clue of what you at speaking about. This is the pay of a glorified baby-sitter, and we are an extremely professional group of people who devote our lives to developing the minds of the children of this country. We deserve much, much more!

    Like

  16. Hollie obviously is very ignorant about teachers and their commitment to children and educating them. I come from a generation of teachers beginning with my father. He raised 7 girls. Five of us went into the teaching field. I was the first to bail out of that field after a rough experience and went to work for DHS. To say that “they” knew what they were getting into just further shows their dedication to their purpose. Where would we be without qualified teachers. Their time and money given to assure our children get an education to prepare for college and the work world is so commendable! By the way as mentioned earlier, the do not get paid for “summers off ” but they can request to have their big salary divided to cover 12 months. DHS, child welfare, where I dedicated 31 years, did not get summers off and were on call 24 hours seven days a week! My hat goes off to teachers and I am saddened they did not he a raise. I voted “yes” for 779!

    Like

  17. It isn’t just teacher pay, it’s per pupil spending that is not keeping up with the rest of the nation. Teachers who went in the the profession 10 years ago never fathomed our state would let us fall to dead last. Much less, allow our children to to be of so little priority educationally.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. I’m so sorry to hear that this is still going on back home. My wife was a teacher in El Reno and loved everything about that school, but I lost my job and was having trouble getting another one so we entertained the possibility of Texas. We were about to be out of a place to live because we couldn’t make it on her salary alone, we love Oklahoma we both are from different parts of the state and we both miss our family terribly… but now we can afford to drive back whenever we want ( 10 hr drive mind you ) and we live at the beach in Galveston so that’s a nice trade up.
    We have so much respect for Oklahoma teachers!!! My sister still teaches there and probably always will, you are all a very special group of people and you get treated so poorly I sincerely hope your situation changes for the better soon!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

