#Oklaed Blog Round-up

I’m shocked that one of my posts has been viewed more than 100 times, and another is not far behind. Of course, most of those views are due to my blogging mentors sharing my posts (and I thank you!). It’s both exciting and scary as hell to think that many people have been exposed to my particular brand of crazy.

I’m still figuring out this whole blogger thing. One of the lessons I am learning is when to leave a particular topic to another who is more skilled at crafting the conversation. I follow several #oklaed blogs pretty regularly: Rob Miller, Rick Cobb, John Thompson, Claudia Swisher, Blue Cereal Education, Brett Dickerson. Others, I catch up with occasionally, and some I stumble upon on social media.

While I would love for you to check out my posts from this week (“It’s a Wonderful Life”, “Times Have Changed”,  and “Village, We Need You”), I thought I would take a moment (or an entire post) to tell you about some of the amazing blogs I read last week. This is by no means an exhaustive list of all the talented and passionate #oklaed bloggers out there, just the ones I happened upon this week that resonated with me.

Rob Miller started the week off with a bang, in his rant on flippant commenter, the mysterious “JBoston”. If you’re not one of the nearly 10,000 people who have read it, go ahead. You won’t be sorry. Also, be sure to stop by okeducationtruths to sing “happy birthday” and read Dr. Cobb’s reflections after three years of blogging. I’m still new to the blogging world, but I’m already finding his ten observations to be spot on. Which is pretty much par for the course for him.

Scott Haselwood talks Diversity and Equity in education on his blog, Teaching from Here.

“What if we could create a system where students had agency in their decisions, where they participated in their education instead of get an education. Allowing the student to break out from the mold of the docile body, where they can choose what they want to learn… The education system needs to view the student as a colleague on a journey with us, mutually sharing the education.”

Scott is known by many as a great teacher and a whiz with Ed. tech. But he’s also a pretty #amazeballs person. Go give him some likes. 

We educators know we run into our fair share of naysayers on the interwebs.  I spent half of Wednesday fuming about this bull$@#! editorial. Don’t bother to read it because it makes absolutely zero sense. To sum it up, this guy basically says (amid his thinly veiled hostility toward educators) that teachers exist, therefore there is no shortage. Despite my mother’s diligent efforts to raise a lady, I still swear, drink beer from a bottle, and find it difficult to walk away from a fight—even if that fight is with an unreasonable, condescending, misinformed…err…person. Boy, was I glad to read this post by Christie Paradise. She does a great job of putting into perspective what 800 vacant positions mean in terms of the staggering number of students across the state without highly qualified teachers. I don’t care what constitutes a “reasonable vacancy rate” in other professions. In education, even one child without a highly qualified teacher is unacceptable.

If you read only one blog this weekend, make it this one by Tyler Bridges. I think he should add “psychic” to his list of #oklaed superpowers because I could have sworn as I read this he was inside my head. This very topic inspired my first post:

“We need to do everything in our power to encourage and champion the teachers who are choosing right now to enter the education field. These are the brave souls willing to join the battle when the fight isn’t fair and we’re on the losing end more often than not. If we want to keep them, we’ll have to help them know their faith was not poorly placed.”

~Me

“We see an atmosphere of distrust and disdain, coupled with poor and uncompetitive professional pay, and this has created an environment teaming with vacancies. This is a serious issue that must be resolved through various avenues related to recruitment AND retention.”

~Tyler

Mr. Bridges comes from a place of more knowledge and experience than I, so he can frame the conversation about teacher retention more effectively. Give it a read. Then stay tuned for when he continues the conversation concerning the teacher shortage, a more complex problem than we might think.

One thought on “#Oklaed Blog Round-up

Leave a Reply

